top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlbatross

2019 Here we go again

Updated: Feb 28, 2019

2019 will be my fourth attempt at the Everglades Challenge. A 300 mile race down the Gulf coast of Florida for small sailboats and kayaks. Last year, for the first time I made it all the way.


For a sail boat like my Hobie Tandem Island, the usual route is around the outside. I went fully 'outside' last year.

Everybody says; "Oooh but there's Alligators!" I hope to see one one day but seeing as they're freshwater it's unlikely. There are some salt water crocs though...

(Image credit: sailmagazine.com)



.....................


The story so far:

2016 Got over half way (Chokoloskee) before the head winds won.

2017 Even stronger winds and gear failure meant I made it less far (Marco).

I made a self pitying film about that year. Please don't watch it.


2018 Favourable winds and much better preparation meant I made it to the finish.I even finished second in our class of about six.

I took lots of video but the audio track failed and TBH views from the boat get a bit samey. See header video above of me, Penguinman and Dietired just after catching the edge of a storm. Being wet and seeing that view of the mangrove swamp coastline are quintessential EC but not exactly Instagram-worthy.


Learning from others and perhaps because its more about the experience than a visual feast, one of the best ways to record this event seems to be as a good ol' fashioned blog so I'll be trying to do that this year via the wix app on my phone.


A bit about the boat


It's a Hobie Tandem Island, a sit on kayak with outriggers, so a mini trimaran. It has an unstayed mast which rotates to furl the sail, an optional downwind spinnaker, a paddle and pedals. I fell in love with their genius design years ago and fantasised about one day sailing one in the Everglades Challenge which is probably their ultimate test. We push them way beyond their design limitations.

Some of the challengers go two up in a TI and some of us heavier units take one solo.


Shake Down

This year I came over in early February to make time for a shakedown cruise. Had the pleasure of meeting Windtern at Shell Key Preserve also shaking his TI down.

I sailed and tweaked stuff in the day and slept on board for 3 nights.

Here is a rare daytime photo of the tent up. On the EC 'stealth camping' involves stopping after dark and away again before dawn





The Master Cabin has a useful awning and is en suite, (roll to the side and pee in the gap between trampoline and hull)

Sleeping on board either on the beach or at anchor means less tramping through the swamps stirring up clouds of mozzies and noseeums, less fine white sand getting everywhere and less having half the stuff you need in the tent and the other half back on the boat. The blue cot (stretcher) is also more comfortable than the ground. Set against this is that sometimes the wind and tide will toss your little craft around all night and you just need to get out of the sodding wind and weather and hunker down on God's good earth. So we'll see.



Essex Boys


I'm very lucky to have met Colin in a St Petersburg bar ("Is this seat taken") after last year's event. As you can see he rarely visits bars.

A 'Windrider 17' sailor and kayaker, Colin's been a US citizen for 20+ years but he's originally from Essex like me and has been a huge help.


We are working on an exciting new design for an autopilot.

At the moment you have to keep your left hand on the steering knob or the boat quickly veers off course. This is probably because we all sail the tandems from the back seat (less of an unwanted salt water facial) so the boat is never as well balanced as she should be. There's quite a lot that requires two hands, especially navigating via the Garmin or the Navionics app to work out your course and position. So we're creating a radical solution code name; 'Buttock pilot (TM)' More news to follow.



Less stress this year

As well as the shakedown cruise I've been able to join a Watertribers get together where organiser Paula sold me the world's most expensive hoodie.

Also a first timer even asked me a question! Me!


Feeling fit

Plus I've been doing a ton of cycling. The best of it with the South Tampa Gentlemen's club. I rode down to the Ft Desoto launch beach one morning and it was odd to be the only human there.



169 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page